Dear Kamala Khan,

dearkamalakhan

You are so awesome. Seriously. You are my hero.

Your story is wonderful and it just… ugh I have so many feelings when I read your comics. Because you’re so different than the usual superhero we see these days, and in the best possible ways. Kamala, you’re a teenage girl who actually acts like a teenage girl. You’re a nerd. You geek out when you meet your heroes. You write fan fiction! And that didn’t change just because you started saving the world. Well, okay, Jersey City, but still! I think you’d really appreciate the meta that is your series. Do you know they write fan fiction about you now? And draw fan art? And dress up as Ms. Marvel for comic book conventions! I bet you’d be ridiculously excited to see all that. I know I would be. (Okay well, knowing what we both know about what happens in a lot of fan fiction and fan art, you’re probably not excited to see all of it). And I see so much of myself in you, because man, I am a huge nerd. I am awkward and dorky and I just feel so… average.

And maybe I am average. But that’s okay. You showed me that you can be an average young nerd girl, unsure and insecure and constantly second-guessing yourself, and still be a hero. I’m not Muslim. Or Pakistani. I’m not the child of immigrants. I look like the standard American girl. So that part of you, I can only empathize with, but not truly understand. But there are still things about myself that I wish I could change. And there are other times where I wish people would just accept me exactly the way I am. Just like you do.

Kamala, you showed me that you don’t have to be 100% secure in yourself to be a hero. You don’t have to always know what you’re doing or what you stand for. A hero can have doubts, be confused, not just about their cause but also about themselves. And that’s totally okay. Because well… I always think about that quote you brought up.

“Good is a not a thing you are. It’s a thing you do.”

A person doesn’t have to be perfect to do good. They don’t even have to be great. I can be myself, awkward and insecure and nerdy and still be a hero. Or at least, do right by others. You taught me that.

Also can we take a moment to appreciate the fact that your story isn’t all grim/dark like everything else seems to be these days? I mean, it’s just so refreshing to read about someone who isn’t depressed and broken and bitter all the time. Yeah, you struggle, but you’re an optimist too, and that’s nice to see. I guess we can blame all the Nolan/Batman stuff for that, at least in part, but it does get old after a while. I like reading about someone who’s cheerful and fun, you know? And funny! Seriously, I wish we could hang out and just be giant nerds together, which is not something I’d say about any other super hero.

Kamala, keep kicking ass. You rock! But please, don’t forget- don’t compromise who you are to do it. Please remember to hold on to that awkward nerd girl while you save the world.

Stay awesome, and love always,

Your friend

 

 

Kamala Khan is a Marvel Comics character created by editors Sana Amanat and Stephen Wacker, writer G. Willow Wilson and artist Adrian Alphona

Leave a Reply

