Dear Santa,

dearsanta

I never stopped believing in you, even though I think I’ve always known you weren’t real. I was a smart kid, who picked up on things a lot more than I let on. I remember sneaking out of bed at night, putting the pieces together, recognizing all the little signs. I still am that observant kid in a lot of ways, never letting on just how much I observe. But I also was (and still am) an emotional dreamer, who even when I was young understood the importance of believing in Santa Claus. I never told my sisters or any other younger children what I knew, and I never once stopped believing.

I believed in the idea of you, and I always will. Ideas are more powerful than reality anyway, and so I was always comfortable with that way of thinking. Ideas are what we create our reality with, and I like the idea of creating a reality where children were always rewarded for being good and for believing in hope and wonder. It’s a little impossible, of course, but that’s what is so powerful about Santa Claus and Christmas- it’s all about the impossible becoming reality. Whether it’s the idea of one man flying around the world in a single night using only reindeer and a sleigh, or something a little more Christian dealing with a god becoming a human, it’s all hoping for impossibilities to become realities.

This time of year, we’re allowed to hope for impossible things. We’re allowed to make a list and wish for peace on earth and goodwill towards men and toys and candy all in the same line. I like hoping for the impossibility of you, Santa, that I’ll wake up and find all of my hopes and dreams neatly wrapped under a tree in the morning. I love that Christmas allows us all to think that way. It’s a little simplistic and childish, but that’s why I love it.

I believe in Santa Claus. I will never stop believing. It’s snowing, it’s beautiful, there are lights on the tree and family at home, and I believe.

Merry Christmas, Happy Holidays, and a Happy New Year!

Love always,

A Believer

Leave a Reply

