Dear Harry Potter,

dearharrypotter

I think this is another long overdue letter. There’s a lot, I mean, a lot, that I want to thank you for, a lot that I want to talk about, but there’s one thing in particular on my mind lately. I’ve grown a lot since I first read your books- technically; I guess I grew with your books. My whole generation did. When J.K. Rowling wrote “There won’t be a child in our world who doesn’t know his name” in the first chapter of the first book, even she admits that it would have been crazy to have thought that would end up being true. Yet here we are.

Here we are… you know, I grew up admiring you, wishing I could take part in your stories. And it’s weird to me, now, to realize that even though I will always look up to you, I’m so much older, so much further along in life than you were then. I didn’t even notice it happening. There were little things along the way of course- turning 11 and not getting a Hogwarts letter will always be a bit of a disappointment.

Now I’m rereading your books. There’s a part of me that will always see you as a hero, someone out in front of me to be followed and admired and imitated. I grew up pretending I was a Gryffindor because you were, not because of any traits of the house itself. These days, I’ve grown up enough to realize that Hufflepuff fits me much better. And now there’s another part of me that’s able to see you as a child too, and that part of me wants to shield you from what you’ll have to deal with, instead of dreaming of fighting along side of you.

It’s strange, how perspectives change. Jarring, like the moment I was watching college football with my family and realized I was years older than all the players on the field. Growing up is like that I guess? Suddenly, one day, you’re so much older than the heroes of your childhood. You’re an adult, and it happened without even realizing it. Without… consenting to it. It just happens.

I still want to be a wizard though. I’d still love to be a part of your world. Even as adult, I keep wishing that one day an owl with a letter will show up for me. I don’t think I’ll ever grow out of that, and that’s okay. There are some things that I don’t think we’re supposed to grow out of, and magic and heroes are some of them. Like J.K. Rowling said, Hogwarts will always be there to welcome you home.

Thanks, for everything.

A Friend

Leave a Reply

